CWGA October Villager Article

CWGA Villager Article
October 2016
By Cathi McLain, CWGA Publicity Chair

This month’s theme is Transitions, a perfect segue from summer to fall, and the end of another successful season of CWGA golf. We had many fun days of play, with a whole flock of new members to become acquainted with and to introduce to Charbonneau’s unique courses. Now it’s almost time to say adios to the snowbirds as they head to their desert abodes, and those of us who stay year ‘round can only hope for some mild weather so we can play golf as long as possible. Meanwhile, there’s lots of news to report, and still more golf to play!

Susan Taylor, 2016 Club Champion!
Congratulations to Susan Taylor, our 2016 Club Champion. This was Susie’s first timeto hoist the champion’s trophy, and it was a well-deserved win after coming close in past seasons. With a two-day score of 147 (72/75), she beat frequent champion and low gross runner-up, Carlyne Lynch, by 3 strokes. Other notables were Sue Oberg, First Flight Low Net winner, with a net 113. Second Flight winners were Kathy Barr, Low Gross, 171; and Victoria Mendenhall, Low Net, 121.
Cindy, insert photo #1 “Susan Taylor, Club Champion & Chris Bensel” with the following caption: Susan Taylor accepts the CWGA Club Championship trophy from head pro Chris Bensel, at the end of play on August 26th.
Insert photo #2“Club Championship Low Gross and Low Net Winners” with caption: The low gross and low net winners (l to r), Carlyne Lynch, Kathy Barr, Victoria Mendenhall, Susan Taylor and Sue Oberg.
Insert Photo #3 “Red Shirt Competitors”, with the caption: Club Championship competitors sported new CWGA red shirts on the second day of play. The shirts are emblazoned with the Charbonneau logo and CWGA and will be ready for members to wear during inter-club play and while volunteering at the Men’s Invitational. Looking spiffy, everyone!

Guest Day was “In the Bag!”

August 17 and 18 was our chance to invite guests to share in the fun of CWGA golf. Starting with the Horse Race on Wednesday afternoon, August 17, teams “ponied”up to see who could last the longest on the red course. The horse race results:

Win: Carlyne Lynch; Place: Jan Holley and Laurie Bales; Show: Carlyne Lynch and Mo Gann.

Thursday’s competition also included weighing everyone’s golf bags as they arrived in the morning. Winners for Heaviest bag: member, Sue Oberg and guest, Susan Gsell; Lightest bag: member, Susan Taylor and guest, Betsy Knudsen. Friday’s play was a scramble followed by catered lunch in the country club dining room.

Winners were the team of Cathi McLain and guest Cherie Conway, and Merra Frochen and guest Susan Gsell, with a net 48; followed by the team of Carlyne Lynch and guests Cherie Seigmund, Trish Patton and Marie Gann, net 49. Third was the team of Jan Watson and guests Maryanna Wiese, Jan Holley, and Laurie Bales, net 50. Fourth was the team of Pat Struckman and guest Bobbie Fisher, and Susan Taylor and guest Betsy Knudsen, net 51. Fifth was the team of Kathy Harp and guest Diane Meyers, and Jan Landis and guest Florence Dickerson, net 52. Other notables were KP in 2 shots on Yellow 6, member Carol Brownlow, 4’2”, and guest Laurie Bales, 41 inches; Long Drive on Yellow 8, member Leslie Leeper, and guest Cherie Siegmund; and Accuracy Drive on Green 1, member Sandy Olson and guest Shirley Higgins. Congrats to all!

Stagette October 7, Get Ready to Par-Tee!

Hope all of you CWGA members have signed up for Stagette, our annual day of golf, food and fun that celebrates the end of the season. Most of the cost is subsidized by our membership fee, so members only, please. We’ll start with a 1:00 shotgun/scramble. The Pro Shop will make up the foursomes. If you don’t plan to play, you can sign up for DINNER ONLY. We’ll Par-tee, with great prizes, happy hour after golf (wine included), annual meeting and election of officers, followed by dinner buffet and generally FUN times.

Proposed Slate of Officers for 2016-17

The nominating committee, chaired by Linda Owen, has submitted the following proposed slate of officers for 2016-2017:

President: Kathy Harp
Vice President: Cathi McLain
Treasurer: Victoria Mendenhall
Secretary: Colly Ehrhart and Kathy Gaibler
Tournament Co-Chairs: Kari Muldrow, Lois Weber, and Pat Struckman